I Wouldn’t Play The Game

I live like I do

For one day

The leaves fall

The trees dwarf

The whistles pause

I crave

For an unwinding windfall

A fortune

For darkness enthralls

She thinks

She builds a fort

A moment unspoken

A lifetime, she recalls

I live a life

With shatter and shame

With disbelief

An infatuation I hold onto with self blame

Will I curse you for this situation?

I wouldn’t play that game

I am to blame

Even if I had the chance

I couldn’t stand the strain

Until I knew the shame

To live give into the blue

I wouldn’t play the game

Leave a Reply

